How to Delete an Account or Member

Last Update: September 15th, 2021

The MyRec.com system prioritizes keeping all historical data. For this reason, accounts and account members can't be deleted. However, you can effectively "delete" an account or member by setting its status to Inactive (or Deceased, depending on the situation).

To make an account inactive:

  1. Use the Account Search bar to search for the account name.
  2. Click the account name (not member name) on the results page.
  3. Click Edit Account on the following page.
  4. In the Additional Info area, change Status from Active to Inactive.
  5. Click Submit at the bottom of the page.

To change a member's status:

  1. Use the Account Search bar to search for the account name.
  2. Click the member name (not account name) on the results page.
  3. Click Edit Account on the following page.
  4. Change Status from Active to Inactive. If the member has passed away, set the status to Deceased.
    • Note: If the member is the billing contact for their household, their status cannot be changed. Designate another household member as the billing contact before trying to make the member inactive.
  5. Click Submit at the bottom of the page.

The account or member is now inactive. It will no longer appear in search results (unless you choose to search for inactive accounts/members) and the account member(s) will not be able to log in from the public side. All account data, however, still exists in the database if it needs to be accessed in the future.